हिन्दी (Hindi)
English

’15 years ago, we had the same problem’ – Dinesh Karthik opens up on contentious Rassie van der Dussen dismissal in Johannesburg

By BetBarter Staff

January 5, 2022

During the first session of day two at the Wanderers, Rassie van der Dussen was adjudged caught behind off the bowling of Shardul Thakur. The on-field umpire Marais Erasmus raised his finger almost instantly.

The replays, however, suggested that the ball had fallen slightly short of the Indian wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant’s gloves. While speaking to Cricbuzz, former South African cricketer Shaun Pollock and Indian cricketer Dinesh Karthik gave their views on this controversial wicket.

“South African camp went to ask if it had carried. It is funny enough that for wicketkeepers in particular with the gloves they’ve got and often for fielders, when you take the ball coming forward, you think you’d be able to see it and whether it has or hasn’t carried but it’s not that easy, is it?” said Shaun Pollock.

The Indian keeper-batter however felt that it gets hard for the keeper to know if the ball ends up falling short as his head his far away from his hands. He also mentioned the fact that the cameras are more advanced than what they were 15 years ago.

“It’s hard to see the ball and because you have the glove which obviously has a lot of leather that protects you from the hits, what it does is that the impact on the ground is not seen. You’re not sure whether it comes straight at your gloves or just bounced. This happens a lot to slip fielders, and to fielders at any point,” said Dinesh Karthik

“Because 15 years ago, we had the same problem, we had slightly lesser cameras, today the cameras have gotten better, there are far more cameras inspite of that we are not able to nail the decision,” he added.

However, post Rassie’s wicket, the hosts did manage to get a lead of 27 runs. As he scored a valiant 51, it was Temba Bavuma who was the star with the bat for the Elgar-led side with a valiant half-century.