3 reasons behind DC’s rise in the past 2 years in the IPL

By Bet Barter

May 4, 2021

The Delhi franchise has seen a significant improvement in their performances in the past 2 years in the IPL. Back in IPL 2019, DC finished 3rd. In IPL 2020, DC finished as the runners-up of the tournament. In IPL 2021, DC is currently 1st in the points table. That said, here are 3 reasons behind DC’s meteoric rise in the past 2 years in the IPL:

3. DC has established a strong core since the last 2 seasons in the IPL

DC retained some of its most important players for the IPL 2019 season, including Kagiso Rabada, Prithvi Shaw, Rishabh Pant, and Amit Mishra. These players are part of the DC squad in IPL 2021. Prithvi Shaw has been one of DC’s most explosive batsmen in IPL 2021, scoring 308 runs so far. Amit Mishra and Kagiso Rabada have scalped crucial wickets for DC in IPL 2021. Overall, DC’s decision to retain its core players has boosted their performance in the last 2 seasons in the IPL.

2. Stability at the top of the batting order

The arrival of Shikhar Dhawan from SRH to DC has changed Delhi’s fortunes. Since Dhawan’s arrival, DC’s top order has become stronger than before. In the last 2 seasons, Dhawan amassed an impressive 1139 runs in total for DC. Prithvi Shaw has also delivered for DC as an opener in the past 2 seasons, amassing 536 runs in total. In 8 matches, the duo of Shaw and Dhawan has amassed 688 runs so far in IPL 2021. Clearly, DC’s top batting order has played an important role in its success in the last 2 years.

1. DC’s robust bowling lineup

In the last 2 years in the IPL, DC has managed to build a solid bowling lineup. DC’s Kagiso Rabada was the Purple cap winner in IPL 2020. Anrich Nortje and Ishant Sharma can also scalp wickets with the ball whenever needed. In the spin department, DC has the experience of R Ashwin and Amit Mishra. Moreover, DC also has some young talented bowlers such as Avesh Khan and Axar Patel on their side. DC’s varied bowling lineup has played a crucial role in its rise in the last 2 years in the IPL.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!