हिन्दी (Hindi)

3 reasons why the Delhi Capitals can win their first IPL

By Bet Barter

April 1, 2021

Delhi Capitals were just one victory away from winning their 1st IPL trophy last season. However, after MI put up an incredible outing, Delhi missed out on a huge chance to end their trophy drought. Now, with IPL 2021 only a few days away, DC will have another chance to finally get their hands on the trophy.

Here are 3 reasons why Delhi could finally end their barren run in the 14th edition of the IPL:

A poised batting front

Delhi Capitals has a star-studded batsman list. With Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw up top, Delhi’s opening pair are one of the league's best. With the inclusion of Steve Smith, Delhi’s middle-order batting lineup is one of the most balanced in the competition. Players such as Ajinkya Rahane and Marcus Stoinis will surely bring more stability and firepower to the Delhi batting lineup. Finally, DC captain Rishabh Pant is in red hot form and will look to exploit bowlers with his bat this season.

Tough competition to vie for the 3rd seamer position

The DC side has a stellar bowling lineup. Considering pacers, they have the services of Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje. Rabada was outstanding in IPL 2020, winning the purple cap. Considering spinners, Delhi has the likes of the experienced R Ashwin and the youngster Axar Patel. Delhi did not have a lot of quality options for the 3rd seamer spot. Now, with the additions of Chris Woakes, Umesh Yadav and Tom Curran, that issue is taken care of.

Rishabh Pant to lead Delhi Capitals this season

Rishabh Pant is in the form of his life right now. After guiding India to an incredible victory against Australia in the Test series, Pant also put up some fantastic outings against England recently. With Iyer out injured, Pant is now the captain of the Delhi franchise. He will desperately want to prove himself as a worthy captain in the IPL. With Ponting’s guidance, there is a possibility of that turning into reality. Pant will be determined to guide his team to win their first ever IPL trophy this year.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!