हिन्दी (Hindi)

5 Australian wrist spinners who have dismissed Kohli in the T20 format

December 7, 2020

Written By,

Ankit Seth

Australia played 2 wrist spinners, Adam Zampa and Mitchell Swepson in the starting XI against India in the 2nd T20I. This has happened for the first time in quite a while now. The decision to play 2 wrist spinners paid off well, as Swepson dismissed Kohli.

5. Brad Hogg

Virat played his 1st T20I against Australia in 2012 at Sydney. Hogg, who was playing his 1st international game in quite a while, dismissed Kohli for just 22 runs. In a miscalculation, Kohli hit the bowl straight to Warner, as India failed to chase the total of 172.

Falling short by 31 runs, India eventually lost the match. Matthew Wade was the star of the show, smashing 73 runs off just 24 balls.

4. James Muirhead

India faced Australia in a group stage match in the ICC T20 World cup back in 2014. India managed to post a total of 159 that day. Muirhead dismissed Kohli for just 22 runs, with the latter misjudging a flighted ball, which was eventually caught by Cameron White. Australia, in response, were bowled out for just 86 runs. India went on to reach the finals but lost to Sri Lanka.

3. Cameron Boyce

During the 1st T20I in India's tour of Australia in 2016, Cameron Boyce dismissed Kohli for 50 runs. It so happened that the ball hit both stump and pad and then hit the stumps. Even though, India managed to chase a total of 198 off the last ball of their innings. Shane Watson was Man of the Match, owing to a blazing century.

2. Adam Zampa

Zampa has scalped Kohli’s wicket on 2 occasions. In India's tour of Australia back in 2018, Zampa dismissed Kohli for just 4 balls. On the 2nd occasion, Zampa outwitted Kohli, who scored just 24 runs in the 1st T20 at Visakhapatnam in 2019.

1. Mitchell Swepson

The most recent dismissal of Kohli came at the hands of Mitchell Swepson. Swepson sent Kohli back to the pavilion with only 9 runs to the latter’s name. Even though, India managed to win the 1st T20I against Australia of the 2020 tour. Wickets from Yuzvendra Chahal and T Natarajan restricted the Aussies to 150 runs, short by only 11 runs.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,

Ankit Seth