5 Cricketers who have won the World Cup without playing any match

By Bet Barter

September 7, 2020

For cricketers playing on the worldwide stage, a World Cup trophy is an accomplishment that is uncommon and incredibly unique. Winning a world cup is the fantasy of each country and all the cricketers who take up proficient cricket. For certain cricketers, a world cup win is an extreme magnificence in their global cricketing profession.

For them, what adds to the claim to fame is performing as well as could be expected when it is important the most; and guide their group to the most desired trophy win in world Cricket. In any case, there have been a couple of fortunate cricketers; who have not played any game on the planet cup yet have the world cup trophy.

Today, we’ll investigate the five cricketers who won the ODI World Cup without playing a game during the whole competition.

Marvan Atapattu – 1996

Previous Sri Lankan batsman Marvan Atapattu has scored near 13000 thousand runs in worldwide cricket. The veteran made his ODI debut in 1990, after which selectors gave him a spot in the group for the World Cup 1996. In the year 1996, Sri Lanka won the World Cup. Yet Attapattu didn’t get an opportunity to play a solitary match during the whole competition. What’s more, it makes him one of the cricketers to win a world cup without playing a solitary game.

Mitchell Johnson – 2007

Previous Australian tempest bowler Mitchell Johnson has been one of the best quick bowlers of his time. Johnson has taken around 600 wickets in worldwide cricket. In the ICC World Cup 2007, selectors chose Johnson in the Australia group. However, he was not given a solitary possibility before experienced bowlers like Glenn McGrath, Shaun Tait, and Brett Lee.

Brad Haddin 2007

Brad Haddin additionally includes in the rundown of cricketers; who have won the world cup without playing even a solitary game. Haddin made his ODI debut against Zimbabwe in 2001. Yet he didn’t get numerous open doors because of Adam Gilchrist being in the group. In the World Cup 2007, Haddin was chosen as Gilchrist’s reinforcement; although he didn’t get a solitary possibility in the old competition.

Liam Dawson – 2019

Britain’s 30-year-old bowling all-rounder Liam Dawson was chosen in the ICC World Cup 2019. Yet he didn’t get the chance to play a solitary match in the competition because of his incorporation in the group all-rounder like Ben Stokes, Moin Ali. Adil Rashid was the fundamental spinner of the group because of the competition, and for that Dawson needed to sit on the seat.

Tom Curran – 2019

Britain’s young quick bowler Tom Curran is extremely capable. He has picked up prominence with establishment cricket the world over; although he has not had the option to get numerous open doors in England cricket. Selectors likewise chose him in the ICC World Cup 2019; yet because of the quick bowlers like Jofra Archer, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood, and Liam Plunkett in the group, he needed to avoid the group. Hence, Tom Curran likewise includes in the rundown of cricketers who won the world without playing a solitary game.

READ MORE Cricket Articles here!