हिन्दी (Hindi)

9 IPL NZ players set to travel straight to England for WTC Final

May 5, 2021

Written By,

Payel Gosh

According to sources, all 9 IPL New Zealand players are likely to travel straight to England for WTC Final. The New Zealand Cricket board had announced a 20-member squad for their upcoming Test tour of England. This also included the ICC World Test Championship final against Virat Kohli and the team. India and New Zealand qualified for the last encounter after coming first and second in the WTC standings, respectively. The men in blue ended with the highest percentage points, whereas New Zealand came second to set up the thrilling clash. 

New Zealand take on England in a 2-Test series from June 2

The New Zealand tour of England begins on May 25 with a practice match. New Zealand is likely to play a 2-match Test series in England from June 2. The country's cricket board has also announced a 20-member squad. It will then be followed by two Tests at the Lord’s and Edgbaston. The World Test Championship final between India and New Zealand is all set to be conducted in Southampton from June 18. The championship will be played from June 18-22, with 23 being a reserve day. The Ageas Bowl in Southampton captivates a five-star hotel attached to the stadium. It also provides a good deal of logistical and operational convenience in times of bio-secure bubbles. Previously, Southampton had hosted matches between England and West Indies, and Pakistan. 

New Zealand was the first side to make it to the ICC World Test Championship final. India then joined the Black Caps following their series win over England. There were speculations that the final of the World Test Championship was shifted from the iconic Lord's as initially planned. It is now revealed that Southampton will be hosting the inaugural final of WTC between India and New Zealand. However, there has been no official confirmation in regards to the location by the ICC.  

New Zealand full squad

Kane Williamson (C), Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Ross Taylor, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry, Devon Conway, Tim Southee, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Blundell, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Trent Boult, Neil Wagner, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, BJ Watling (WK), Will Young.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,

Payel Gosh