हिन्दी (Hindi)

Suresh Raina to return in competitive cricket with Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

By Bet Barter

December 10, 2020

Former Indian batsman Suresh Raina had made headlines before the commencement of the 13th edition of the Indian Premier League. He left the team's bio-bubble in the United Arab Emirates and returned to India. The Chennai Super Kings received a massive blow after Raina pulled out from the tournament citing personal reasons.

There were few rumors when Raina decided to give up on IPL 2020. However, Raina, at last, cleared it, that his family is more important for him. He said he won't be able to take the mental pressure of being in the bubble. Thirteen members of the CSK contingent tested positive for the coronavirus before the commencement of the league.

Soon after the exit of Raina, it was believed that his 13-year old relation with CSK management had turned sour. The Yellow Army removed the name of the batsman from their official website. Along with this they also canceled his contract mid-season. The veteran spinner, Harbhajan Singh also removed his name from the league mentioning personal reasons.

Suresh Raina is to lead Uttar Pradesh in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Suresh Raina will be representing Uttar Pradesh in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy in the 2020/21 season. However, because of the ongoing coronavirus pandemic, domestic cricket was put to a halt. But now the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is planning to host the tournament before the IPL 2021 auctions.

Suresh Raina says that he would be leading the Uttar Pradesh side in the domestic tournament. The 34-year-old also confirmed his presence in the 2021 edition of the Indian Premier League. 

Suresh Raina had led the state team to a title victory in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, back in the 2015-16 season. However, the batsman didn't comment on whether he would continue playing for CSK in IPL 2021. Suresh Raina last featured during the final of the IPL 2019. Mumbai Indians defeated Chennai Super Kings to grab their 4th IPL title.

BCCI's Annual General Meeting is to take place on 24 December. After the meeting, one can expect the announcement of the schedule for the domestic season. The 14th edition of the Indian Premier League will be taking place in April and May. The officials are also hoping to host the league in India. Suresh Raina is the second-highest run-scorer in the history of the IPL, behind Virat Kohli.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!