हिन्दी (Hindi)

The second cycle of the World Test Championship will have a new points system

By Bet Barter

June 30, 2021

The upcoming India vs England series will mark the commencement of the second cycle of the ICC World Test Championship. The world governing body of cricket has come up with some changes with the points system this time. According to ESPNCricinfo, every Test match will be allotted the same number of points in the second edition of the World Test Championship. The points system will not be the same as the inaugural tournament, where each series was worth the same number of points. The winning team is going to get 12 points whereas a draw will see both teams getting six points each. In case of a loss, no points will be awarded.

England to play the most number of Test matches in the two-year cycle

The second edition of the ICC WTC cycle will be from August 2021 to June 2023. The mega event will see the participation of the nine Test teams playing a total of six series. This includes three homes and three away, similar to the inaugural edition of WTC played between 2019 and 2021.

All the cricket teams will be ranked in the points table based on the percentage of points they won from the games in the tournament. The rule is equivalent to the one applied by the ICC midway through the previous cycle. The second World Test Championship is going to see just two series of five Test matches each. This includes England versus India in August and the Ashes in December. The 2022 Border-Gavaskar Trophy that is going to be conducted in India will consist of only four-Test series. Overall, there will be seven three-match series and 13 two-match series. In the second WTC, all nine teams will continue to play six series, three at home and three away.

The England cricket team will play the greatest number of Test matches in the two-year cycle (21). It will then be followed by India, which will play 19, Australia (18), and South Africa (15). New Zealand will only play 13 Tests games. Last but not least, Pakistan, West Indies, and Sri Lanka will play 12 Test games. Meanwhile, Kane Williamson’s New Zealand won the Test mace. They are currently the number one ICC Test side after defeating India in the final in Southampton.

Read more articles