हिन्दी (Hindi)

I won’t let the price tag affect my performance: K Gowtham

February 19, 2021

Written By,

Payel Gosh

Krishnappa Gowtham became the costliest uncapped Indian player at the IPL 2021 auction. The 32-year-old expressed his happiness and stated that he wouldn't let the hefty price tag affect his performance. Gowtham will now be seen donning the yellow jersey for Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the league's 14th edition. Gowtham was bought for a whopping amount of INR 9.25 crores. Kolkata Knight Riders had opened the bidding for the explosive middle-order batsman at Rs 20 lakh's base price.

Talking about Gowtham's IPL statistics, the all-rounder has played 24 matches since 2018. Overall, he has scored 186 runs and picked up 13 wickets. He is now looking forward to learning from the experienced Indian cricketers Suresh Raina and Mahindra Singh Dhoni. Gowtham stated that he is not worried about his price tag and wants to concentrate on delivering for Chennai Super Kings in the upcoming season. 

I have to go out and perform my best: K Gowtham

The right-handed batsman will be featuring in his fourth IPL franchise. In 2017, he was a part of Mumbai Indians but did not play a single game. He was then bought by Rajasthan Royals for two seasons before signing with the Kings XI Punjab for IPL 2020. Gowtham played just two matches last season, scoring 42 runs at a strike rate of 155, and picked up one wicket.

The 32-year-old mentioned that he isn't putting much thought into his price tag. The right-hander will follow the simple mantra that MS Dhoni has always spoken about: go out there and express yourself. Gowtham idolizes CSK's captain. He was bought alongside England all-rounder Moeen Ali to replace Harbhajan Singh and Piyush Chawla.

CSK squad for IPL 2021

MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Cheteshwar Pujara, KM Asif, Deepak Chahar, Dwayne Bravo, Josh Hazlewood, Faf du Plessis, R Sai Kishore, Imran Tahir, Narayan Jagadeesan, Karn Sharma, Lungi Ngidi, Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shardul Thakur, Sam Curran, Mitchell Santner, Robin Uthappa, Moeen Ali, Krishnappa Gowtham, C Hari Nishaanth, Harishankar Reddy and Bhagath Varma.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,

Payel Gosh