हिन्दी (Hindi)

ICC announces rescheduled qualification pathway to U-19 Men’s Cricket World Cup 2022

December 14, 2020

Written By,

Ankit Seth

The Covid-19 pandemic has affected every sport in some or the other way. All sporting events were forced to stop the activity for a month or two. The multi-national sporting events are either getting canceled or postponed. EURO 2020 and Olympics 2020 are a few examples that didn't happen due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Similarly, the qualification tournament for the 2022 U-19 Men’s World Cup is also going to take place in 2021. However, the pandemic is causing the organizers to revise the qualification scenario for the spots.

According to recent reports, 33 teams will vie for five spots in the 14th edition of the tournament. The top 11 teams of the 2020 edition are likely to get automatic qualification to the tournament.

The leading cricket nations like India, Bangladesh, England, Pakistan, South Africa, and New Zealand have already qualified for the 14th edition. Dominant Australia, West Indies, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, and Zimbabwe are the other teams to secure the qualification.

What is the revised qualification scenario for U-19 Men’s Cricket World Cup 2022?

For the West Indies edition of the tournament, the remaining five spots will be filled through regional qualification. Starting from June 2021, seven regional tournaments are going to take place to determine the five nations from a lot of 33 teams.

As Africa and Asia make up a majority of cricket playing nations, a two-division qualification pathway will be held. Africa regional tournament will occur in Nigeria, whereas the Asian qualification tournament will be taking place in UAE. The other three spots will be occupied by the winners of America, East Asia, and the Pacific, and Europe.

The United States of America will host the Americas qualification tournament. The tournament will comprise Canada, Bermuda, and Argentina along with hosts. The fixtures are mostly to be between August 18 to 25. Similarly, the European regional qualification is to take place in Scotland from July 30 to August 5.

Denmark, Ireland, Jersey, Netherlands, and Guernsey are the five participating countries in the tournament. Japan will be the host for the EAP tournament. It is going to happen between September 28 and October 4.

Chris Tetley, head of ICC events, opined that the event will allow the youngsters to shine and become household names. More than the main event, the qualification tournament might pan out to be interesting and enthralling. Bangladesh already sent shock waves across the globe after they defeated India in the finals of 2020.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,

Ankit Seth