हिन्दी (Hindi)

Ajinkya Rahane prepared to have his name in the MCG Honours Board

By Bet Barter

December 28, 2020

India's stand-in skipper, Ajinkya Rahane, will find his name on the MCG Honours Board for the second time in his 7-year Test career. The cricketer led from the front to put India in command on Day Two of the Boxing Day Test against the hosts. Rahane also registered his 12th Test century. During his brilliant knock, he past Virat Kohli among the Indian batsmen with the most runs at the MCG.

Because of Rahane's brilliance, the visitors are in a comfortable position at 277 for 5. They have set a significant lead of 82 runs at the end of Day 2. Rahane hit 12 boundaries in his complete knock.

The Melbourne Cricket Ground Honours Board

The Melbourne Cricket Ground is one of Australia's iconic venues. For more than 100 years, it has hosted the country's biggest cricket matches. The stadium also has other significant sporting contests like the 1956 Olympic Games. The MCG has its own Honours Board to foster players who excel at the grand venue.

Apart from amazing the crowd with their performance, the players can earn themselves a lasting place in The People's Ground's history. They can have their names engraved with some of the greatest players ever to have played the game.

Rahane to engrave his name for the second time

After a well-poised century, India's stand-in skipper Ajinkya Rahane has earned himself a well-deserved spot in the MCG Honours Board. This will be the second time that his name will get etched in his 7-year long Test career. 

His earlier century at the MCG was back in December 2014. The batsman scored 147 against the Aussies.

What is the criteria for a player's name to be engraved on the Honours Board?

A player should either score a century or take five wickets in an innings. This guarantees that a player's name gets added to the honour boards in the cricket dressing rooms.

In the home and away dressing rooms, these boards will always remind the players of the best batting and bowling performances.

Who are the other Indian cricketers on the MCG Honours Board?

There are eight Indian cricketers who have got their names in the MCG Honours Board till date. Vinoo Mankad, Gundappa Renganath Viswanath, Sunil Gavaskar, Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli.

Ajinkya Rahane is going to be the second Indian cricketer to get his name etched for the second time. The other Indian to have achieved this feat in the past was Vinoo Mankad.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!