हिन्दी (Hindi)

Australia all-rounder Ellyse Perry pulls out of The Hundred

By Bet Barter

July 11, 2021

Australian all-rounder Ellyse Perry has withdrawn from the maiden season of The Hundred due to personal reasons. The 30-year old was eventually going to play for Birmingham Phoenix, but she decided to opt out of the tournament. Ellyse Perry’s teammates Rachael Haynes, Alyssa Healy, and Meg Lanning have also opted out of The Hundred. Meanwhile, the Indian cricket board has permitted No Objection Certificates to five women players who will be participating in the maiden edition of the Hundred. This includes Shafali Verma, Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur, Jemimah Rodrigues, and Deepti Sharma.

The Hundred is set to start on July 21

Shafali Verma is currently the number one ranked T20I batter. She has joined Birmingham Phoenix as a replacement for Sophie Devine. Harmanpreet Kaur is likely to feature in the opening match at the Kia Oval on July 21. She will represent Manchester Originals. Jemimah Rodrigues is also set to feature in the tournament. She will be playing for Northern Superchargers.

The 24-year-old Indian batter Smriti Mandhana is also prepared to form a devastating opening partnership with Danni Wyatt at Southern Brave. On the other hand, Deepti Sharma will join England skipper Heather Knight at London Spirit. 

The Hundred is going to feature eight teams playing against each other. The first match in the tournament will be played between the women’s teams of Oval Invincibles and Manchester Originals. The Hundred will see prominent players (both men and women) playing in the competition in the English summer. With T20 matches going on for more than 3 hours, the ECB has come up with The Hundred to attract new audiences.

For the unversed, an innings in The Hundred will encompass 100 deliveries. The change of ends will only happen after ten balls have been bowled. The game’s new format was supposed to take place in 2020, but it was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The highly anticipated tournament, organized by the England Cricket Board, is now going to start on July 21. 

Read More