हिन्दी (Hindi)

Australia announce squad for the limited-overs tour to West Indies

By Bet Barter

May 17, 2021

Cricket Australia has announced a 23-man squad for the forthcoming limited-overs tour of the West Indies. Australia will face West Indies in 5 T20Is and 3 ODIs from July 9 to July 24. With the ICC T20 World Cup scheduled to occur in India later this year, Cricket Australia has named a full-strength squad for the white-ball series against West Indies. As a result, the fans are likely to witness the return of many prominent names in the upcoming tour.

Marnus Labuschagne and Cameron Green ruled out of the series

In March, Australian players who were missing from the T20I tour of New Zealand have also been included in the squad. Thus, star players like Steve Smith, David Warner, Pat Cummins, and Mitchell Starc have made a comeback in the team. Meanwhile, Ben McDermott and Ashton Turner, who played against New Zealand, have been excluded from the squad. In addition, Daniel Sams has also made himself unavailable for the tour, citing health and wellbeing reasons. Furthermore, one-day specialists Marnus Labuschagne and Cameron Green have been ruled out of the series. Batsman Labuschagne is currently playing county cricket in England. On the other hand, Green is focusing on the domestic season for West Australia as the all-rounder wants to work on his bowling.

Swepson and uncapped player Tanveer Sangha, along with Adam Zampa, are the three leg-spinners in the team. This will give an insight into Australia's planning for the forthcoming T20 World Cup in India. Since last August, Josh Philippe and Carey, who haven't featured in a T20 game, have also been included in the team. Australia has decided to go with three wicketkeepers along with Matthew Wade. Overall, the biggest strength of this Australian squad is the abundance of big-hitting all-rounders. Glen Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Mitch Marsh, Moises Henriques, and D'Arcy Short will dominate the middle-order.

The pace troika of Cummins, Starc, and Hazlewood will appear in white-ball format for Australia together after a long time. Riley Meridith and Andrew Tye have also retained their spot. The duo will bolster the already strong bowling line-up.

Australia Squad

Aaron Finch (C), Josh Philippe, Jason Behrendorff, David Warner, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Ashton Agar, Andrew Tye, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Swepson, Mitchell Marsh, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Riley Meredith, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Tanveer Sangh, Moises Henriques, D'Arcy Short, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!