हिन्दी (Hindi)

Australia declare squad for the third Test against India at Sydney Cricket Ground

January 1, 2021

Written By,


Cricket Australia have declared their squad for the forthcoming third Test of the four-match series against India. The match is going to take place in Sydney on January 7, 2021. The opening batsman Joe Burns has finally been dropped after he failed in Melbourne. In the Adelaide Test, Burns could only score only 8 runs in the first innings. However, he tried saving his place with an unbeaten 51 in the second innings while chasing a low score.

On the other end, David Warner has come back to the squad after recovering from full fitness. The batsman had sustained an injury during the One Day series against India. Because of the injury, he had to miss the subsequent T20I series as well. Will Pucovski has also regained from his concussion that he had suffered during the first warm-up game against India A. Both Warner and Pucovski are most likely to open the innings in the Sydney Test for the hosts.

The four-match series is well-positioned now with India's astonishing comeback in the Boxing Day Test. The Indian side, in the absence of Rohit Sharma, Ishant Sharma, Virat Kohli and Mohammed Shami, played incredibly to keep Australia troubled throughout the Test to seal the match by eight wickets.

Who is going to be replaced? Matthew Wade or Travis Head?

The Australian team management will again have to scratch its head over the team combination for the upcoming Sydney Test. Matthew Wade has been decent with the bat in the first two matches as an opener. The wicket-keeper had never opened before in first-class cricket. The hosts can think of retaining him at the top of the order. If they include Wade, then the management can only have David Warner as a replacement of Joe Burns.

If Australia is planning to hand a debut cap to Will Pucovski then they will have to drop either Wade or Head from the squad. There is no further change in the rest of the squad. However, depending on the pacers' fitness, Australia might take a call on making some changed in the pace attack it seems.

Australia team for Sydney Test

Tim Paine (C), David Warner, Will Pucovski, Steve Smith, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, Sean Abbott, Pat Cummins.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,