हिन्दी (Hindi)

Australia to tour Bangladesh for a 5-match T20I series in August

May 26, 2021

Written By,

Ankit Seth

Australia is all prepared to tour Bangladesh for a five-match T20 International series in August. The Australian cricket team was scheduled to play three matches on the tour, but Cricket Australia has decided to increase the number of games. The development was put forth, keeping in mind the T20 World Cup later this year. Bangladesh has also discarded one Test match from their tour of Zimbabwe and added one T20I game instead.

The Bangladesh cricket team will head to Zimbabwe for one Test, three ODIs, and three T20Is in June. Additionally, Akram Khan, who has previously led Bangladesh, stated that he wasn't aware of the quarantine protocols in Zimbabwe. Akram Khan also said that Bangladesh would not be playing any cricket in the time for the postponed Asia Cup. During that window, the Bangladeshi cricketers will be focussing on the Dhaka Premier League. The tournament is scheduled to get underway on May 31. 

Australia to tour the West Indies in July after the conclusion of the Bangladesh tour

Tamim Iqbal and the team are currently taking part in the three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka. The Sri Lanka team is captained by Kusal Perera. After the conclusion of the ODI games on May 28, the Sri Lankan squad will depart on the next day. The forthcoming series against Sri Lanka will be Bangladesh's third ODI series of the ICC's World Cup qualifying campaign. Sri Lanka and Bangladesh recently faced each other in a two-match Test series, which was won by the Island nation. Sri Lanka had defeated Bangladesh by 209 runs in the second Test, while the first match ended in a draw. 

Meanwhile, Australia will tour the West Indies in July after the conclusion of the Bangladesh tour. The team is scheduled to play five T20Is against the West Indies team led by Kieron Pollard. The forthcoming series is a build-up to the ICC T20 World Cup going to take place later this year. The two sides will also face each other in a three-ODI series on the tour.

Cricket Australia has announced a 23-man squad for the forthcoming limited-overs tour of the West Indies. Aaron Finch-led Australia will face West Indies in 5 T20Is and 3 ODIs from July 9 to July 24. With the ICC T20 World Cup scheduled to occur in India later this year, Cricket Australia has named a full-strength squad for the white-ball series against West Indies.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,

Ankit Seth