हिन्दी (Hindi)

Australia women announce squad for India series 

By BetBarter Staff

August 18, 2021

Cricket Australia (CA) has announced a strong squad for the upcoming all-format series against India women. The Australia-India series kicks off with three-match ODI series that gets underway on September 19. The teams will then cross swords in a historic Day-Night Test match at Perth before playing a three-match T20I series set to begin on October 11. Fast bowler Megan Schutt has opted out of the series due to personal reasons. All-rounder Jess Jonassen too won’t be available after being diagnosed with a stress injury in her tibia.

The duo’s absence has given other players a chance to showcase their skills as Georgia Redmayne and Stella Campbell have earned their maiden call-ups. Both these players have performed stupendously well in the domestic circuit and deserve to be here. Redmayne has also shown her batting prowess in the ongoing Hundred, where she is the second-highest run-scorer for Welsh Fire with 152 runs.

Meanwhile, young fast bowler Campbell has done well in the Women’s National Cricket League (WNCL) and Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL). Sydney Sixers coach Ben Sawyer is mighty impressed with the bowler’s progress and feels her control has improved over the years.

“Her control has improved – one of her goals this year was to improve her control of different deliveries.”

"Stella is yet another young fast bowler to have come through the pathway and adds another layer of depth to an emerging pace bowling group," Flegler said to ESPN Cricinfo. "She's a tall, bouncy fast bowler who we feel could be a real option throughout the series, particularly with the conditions in Perth.

Australia Squad: Meg Lanning (C), Rachael Haynes (VC), Darcie Brown, Maitlan Brown, Stella Campbell, Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Tahlia McGrath, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Georgia Redmayne, Molly Strano, Annabel Sutherland, Tayla Vlaeminck, Georgia Wareham