‘Bat bhi nhi pakda or out ho gya’ – Fans disappointed as Kane Williamson reportedly ruled out of Indian T20 League 2023 after his injury in the opener

By Daniel S

April 1, 2023

In what seems to be a major blow for Gujarat, senior batter Kane Williamson ended up injuring his knee in the tournament opener against Chennai at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. Williamson landed up on his knee while attempting to stop a six from Ruturaj Gaikwad at the boundary rope.

Now, in a piece of shocking news for the Gujarat fans, the former New Zealand skipper has reportedly been ruled out of the entire edition of the Indian T20 League. The fans are also concerned following this news from the camp of the defending champions.

They took to Twitter to express their disappointment with this alarming news for Hardik Pandya’s men. Fans came up with a lot of different reactions and responses on the micro-blogging site Twitter.

Here’s how fans reacted:

Speaking of Gujarat’s tournament opener against Chennai on Friday, the hosts continued their winning run from the very point where they left in last year’s final of the Indian T20 League 2022. Gujarat skipper Hardik Pandya won the flip of the coin and asked Chennai to bat first. Batting first, Chennai managed to post a total of 178 runs for the loss of seven wickets in the allotted 20 overs courtesy of the brilliant knock played by Ruturaj Gaikwad.

Star opener Gaikwad played a swashbuckling knock of 92 runs off just 50 balls with four boundaries and nine sixes to his name. Rashid Khan, Mohammed Shami, and Alzarri Joseph scalped two wickets each alongside one wicket claimed by Josh Little for Gujarat.

While chasing the target, Gujarat’s in-form opener Shubman Gill played an outstanding knock of 63 runs off just 36 balls with six boundaries and three sixes on his credit. Eventually, riding on the brilliant finish by the pair of star all-rounders Rahul Tewatia and Rashid Khan, Gujarat chased down the target in 19.2 overs for the loss of five wickets and scored 182 runs to win the match by five wickets.

Rashid Khan won the ‘player of the match award for his brilliant all-round and match-defining performance in favor of Gujarat.