हिन्दी (Hindi)

BBL 10: Power Surge rule in the Big Bash League

December 13, 2020

Written By,

Ankit Seth

The Power Surge rule is going to be beneficial for the batting side. Each team can take a two-over powerplay at any point after the 11th over. The Hobart Hurricanes opened their BBL 2020-21 campaign with a victory against Sydney Sixers.

Power Surge is one of three new rules put forward in the Big Bash League 2020. According to this innovation, the standard six-over powerplay is now replaced by four overs at the start of an innings. The batting side can decide for the remaining two-over restriction at any moment after the 11th over.

The Hurricanes decided to bat first and enforced their Power Surge at the end of 14 overs. The side managed to score 25 runs in those two overs. In response, the Sixers looked in control in the beginning as they cruised to 118-1. However, the Daniel Hughes-led side failed to hasten in the last few overs and fell 16 runs short. 

Power Surge will help both the batsmen and bowlers, in the same way, says Trent Woodhill

The new rules of the BBL 10 were the perception of Trent Woodhill. Trent is the Big Bash’s player acquisition and cricket consultant. He believes that BBL matches will now generate more attention and narratives after the addition of these rules.

Regarding the Power Surge, he justified that the belated field restrictions will help a batsman get going. He also added that the rule would also enable attacking bowlers to pick up more wickets as the batsmen will try playing big shots.

The league stage of Australia’s premier cricket tournament will conclude on January 26, 2021. The Hobart Hurricanes made a brilliant start to their campaign. Melbourne Stars, with 4 points, are leading in the points table. Hurricanes are second with 3 points

The defending champions Sydney Sixers have secured just 1 point after their first match and are third on the Points table. Other BBL teams including Perth Scorchers, Adelaide Strikers, and Melbourne Renegades are yet to play their first game this season. It will be quite exciting to see how the 10th edition of the BBL would turn out. The Big Bash League, 2020-21 final, is going to take place on February 6, 2021.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,

Ankit Seth