हिन्दी (Hindi)

BBL 2021-22: Perth Scorchers crowned champions after resounding win

By BetBarter Staff

January 28, 2022

In what can be called complete team domination, Perth Scorchers beat Sydney Sixers in the final to become the champions of the Big Bash League season 11. Perth became the champions for the fourth time

Winning the toss, Sydney went with the obvious choice to bowl first and chase down the target later on. They had the perfect imaginable start as they went on to pick 4 wickets within the powerplay. Only one of the top four Perth player's got a two-digit score. With Nathan Lyon taking two of the four wickets, the Sixers were at the top.

Skipper Ashton Turner batting with Laurie Evans had the responsibility to take the team to a reputable total. Turner played the role of an anchor to some extent, while Evans pushed the throttle. Both these stitched a hundred run stand and got to their half-centuries. Turner scored 54 runs in 35 balls hitting 4 fours and a six. Evans remained not out on 76 runs in 41 balls, scoring 4 fours and 4 sixes.

Perth Scorchers were able to get 171 runs on the board, which was a par score. In their chase, Sixers too had a rough start. They lost three wickets inside the powerplay. Daniel Hughes tried to hang in but did not get a lot of support from his teammates. Wickets kept falling for the Sixers and they failed to build partnerships. They went from 3 wickets down in 9.3 overs to all out in 16.2 overs. Jhye Richardson and Andrew Tye did most of the damage.

Sydney Sixers could only get 92 on the board, with Daniel Hughes scoring 42 of those runs. Laurie Evans was awarded the Player of the match, and the Perth Scorchers lifted their fourth-ever BBL title