हिन्दी (Hindi)

BCCI confirms 10-team IPL from 2022 at the Annual General Meeting

By Bet Barter

December 26, 2020

The Board of Control for Cricket in India has confirmed the addition of two new IPL franchises for the 2022 edition. It will now be a 10-team tournament. After several months of speculation, the BCCI's general body finally approved the decision to have 10 IPL franchises. The general body approved the decision at the board's Annual General Meeting in Ahmedabad on Thursday.

Earlier, the Reports had claimed that BCCI could add one or two new franchises before the commencement of the 2021 IPL. However, the next tournament will be played with the same eight teams that took part this season.

BCCI will add the new IPL franchises ahead of the 2022 season. BCCI has not yet declared the details regarding the entire process of bidding for the two. The officials will have to work with the ICC to find a two-month window to hold the tournament. With the addition of two teams as 94 games will take place. The international calendar in that year will indeed be disrupted as a result of this.

The BCCI took one more important decision of compensating all the first-class players for the cancellation of domestic tournaments due to the COVID19 pandemic. Furthermore, they have also decided to increase the retirement age of referees, umpires and scorers to 60. Previously it was 55 years. The board also increased the limit of reimbursement of retired First-Class Cricketers to Rs 10 Lakhs.

As per reports, BCCI has also agreed to include cricket in the Olympic Games of 2028.

No mega-auction before the 2021 IPL

The current IPL franchises felt that adding two new teams to the 2021 IPL would be a hasty decision. The management will not enough time for teams to scout players and build their catalogues.

A mega-auction would have involved to new agendas for the 2021 tournament. Since the mega-auction will occur in 2022, the current teams can retain the majority of their players for the 2021 edition. The 14th edition of the IPL is expected to begin in April.

India is still the preferred and likeliest choice to hold the tournament at the moment. But the BCCI officials will have to make contingency plans if there is no significant change in the COVID-19 situation.

The just-concluded 2020 IPL took place in the UAE with the Mumbai Indians coming out on top. Mumbai Indians defeated Delhi Capitals to seize their fifth IPL title.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!