WATCH: Rocketman show lits up opening game of Men's Big Bash League 2023-24

In the opening game of the ongoing Men's Big Bash League 2023-24, former champions, Brisbane Heat locked horns with three-time finalists, Melbourne Stars.

Mathew K
New Update
Opening game of Men's BBL 2023-24

The opening game of Men's BBL 2023-24 (Image Credit: Twitter)

In the opening game of the ongoing Men's Big Bash League 2023-24, the Rocketman entertained the crowd during the mid-game break. In the match, the home team, Brisbane Heat batted first after losing the toss. Batting first, the 2012-13 winners dominated with the bat. The opening pair of Usman Khawaja and Colin Munro put together 66 runs in seven overs. 

While the likes of Marnus Labuschagne (30), Sam Billings (18), and Max Bryant (15*) played cameos. On the other hand, Munro stayed unbeaten on 99. They helped the team reach 214/3 on a massive ground of The Gabba. After the innings, the Rocketman entertained the crowd. 

Watch the video here

Brisbane Heat starts their Big Bash League campaign with a massive win

In reply, the three-time finalists kept losing wickets and were never in the game. Only three batters including skipper Glenn Maxwell crossed the double-digit mark. Apart from them, eight batters got out in single digit-mark and the team was bowled out for 111 runs, losing the game by 103 runs. Mitchell Swepson took three wickets while Michael Neser and Xavier Bartlett took two wickets each.

On the other hand, Spencer Johnson, Matthew Kuhnemann, and Paul Walter took one each.

Most Wins in Big Bash League

BBL Team BBL Trophy BBL Winner Year
Perth Scorchers 5 2013-14, 2014-15, 2016-17, 2021-22, 2022-23
Sydney Sixers 3 2011-12, 2019-20, 2020-21
Brisbane Heat 1 2012-13
Sydney Thunder 1 2015-16
Adelaide Strikers 1 2017-18
Melbourne Renegades 1 2018-19
Big Bash League