‘Bilateral Series aate hi ache din aa gaye’ – Fans Congratulate Team India After They Defeat New Zealand In 2nd T20I

By Daniel S

November 20, 2022

Team India locked horns with New Zealand on 20 November 2022 in Mount Maunganui. The first game of this ongoing three-match T20I series got abandoned due to heavy rain on 18 November in Wellington. So, fans were hoping to see both these teams in action. Rain threats were there before the encounter.

But, it did not create any issues as the match got started at the right time. Speaking of the match, Kane Williamson won the toss and asked Hardik Pandya to bat first. Many fans were hoping to see Umran Malik, Shubman Gill, and Sanju Samson in this match. But, all of them failed to get a place in the final playing XI.

India defeated New Zealand by 65 runs in the second T20I of the series

For India, Rishabh Pant and Ishan Kishan came out to open the innings. Pant failed again as he scored six runs off 13 balls, including one four. Ishan Kishan scored 36 runs off 31 balls, including five fours and one six. Apart from them, Suryakumar Yadav scored his second T20I ton in this match. He scored 111* runs off 51 balls, including 11 fours and seven sixes. He smashed those runs at a staggering strike rate of 217.64. Thus, India scored 191 runs for six wickets in 20 overs. For the Kiwis, Tim Southee took a hat-trick by conceding 34 runs in his four overs.   

In reply, Indian bowlers were in a good rhythm. Bhvneshwar Kumar struck early on his first over only. Skipper Kane Williamson scored 61 runs off 52 balls, including four boundaries and two sixes. Apart from him, all batters failed miserably as New Zealand got bundled out for 126 runs in 18.5 overs. Thus, India managed to win the match by a huge margin of 65 runs. For the Men in Blue, Deepak Hooda took four wickets for 10 runs in his 2.5 overs. Suryakumar Yadav won the player of the match award for his blistering knock. Now, India will now look to win this series when they will face the Kiwis in the third and last match on 22 November in Napier.

Here is how fans have reacted to the victory of team India over the Kiwis in the second T20I: