हिन्दी (Hindi)

Brad Hogg picks his best XI from WTC 2019-21 cycle

By Bet Barter

June 30, 2021

Former Australian spinner Brad Hogg disclosed his World Test Championship (2019-2021) best playing XI. New Zealand was crowned winners. The team led by Kane Williamson lifted the trophy, defeating India by 8 wickets.

Kane Williamson named captain of Brad Hogg's best XI

After the first season of the WTC cycle, many cricket experts and fans picked their team for the tournament. Brad Hogg also joined and announced his best playing XI of WTC. The former Australian spinner chose Indian Rohit Sharma and Sri Lankan Dimuth Karunaratne as the opening batsmen of his team. Rohit was India's second-highest run-scorer in the tournament. He scored 1094 runs at an average of 60.77. Furthermore, he included David Warner in the team. Warner scored a triple century in the ICC World Test Championship cycle. 

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson and Australia's Steve Smith were next in the line-up. Marnus Labuschagne, WTC's highest run-getter, does not make it to Hogg's playing XI. On the other hand, Joe Root and Virat Kohli were some other surprising absentees in the middle order. He picked Pakistan captain Babar Azam with English all-rounder Ben Stokes next in the order. Brad Hogg selected young Rishabh Pant for the wicketkeeper role.

The remaining three spots were occupied by Kyle Jamieson, Stuart Broad, and Mohammed Shami. Kagiso Rabada, Pat Cummins, and Tim Southee were some other stand-out pacers in the entire tournament. However, the bowlers could not make it to Brad Hogg's XI.

Brad Hogg's ICC WTC Team of the Tournament

Rohit Sharma, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kane Williamson (C), Steve Smith, Babar Azam, Ben Stokes, Rishabh Pant (WK), Kyle Jamieson, Ravichandran Ashwin, Stuart Broad, Mohammed Shami.

Read more articles