हिन्दी (Hindi)

Breaking! Kolkata, Chennai to kick off Indian T20 League 2022

By BetBarter Staff

February 27, 2022

The opening match for the Indian T20 League has been revealed. The match will take place between Chennai and Kolkata. The season opener is scheduled to be played on the 26th of March as requested by the broadcasting partner. Earlier, the BCCI had announced the start date, venues, and virtual groups of the tournament.

Teams have been clubbed into two groups of five according to the virtual table. A total of 14 games will be played by each side (7 home and 7 away). The teams were sorted into two groups based on the number of championships won and final appearances. Each team will face teams of same group and team in the same row of other group twice, and remaining four teams of the other group one.

Here are the virtual groups:

Group A Group B
Mumbai Chennai
Kolkata Hyderabad
Rajasthan Bangalore
Delhi Punjab
Lucknow Gujarat

In other developments, the BCCI has allowed a 25% capacity of the crowd for the start of the Indian T20 League. Earlier the board had said that 25-50% of the audience will be allowed for the matches.

Meanwhile, the tournament’s previous two seasons have been tumultuous. The whole 2020 season was held in the UAE, and the full 2021 season was moved there midway through the competition. Mumbai, Navi Mumbai, and Pune, on the other hand, have been chosen as the locations for 2022 season. The BCCI believes that the entire event can be held in Maharashtra.

According to the rules, 15 league matches will be held in each of Mumbai’s Brabourne Stadium and Pune’s MCA Stadium. The remaining 40 matches will be evenly split between Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai and DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai.