हिन्दी (Hindi)

Cheteshwar Pujara will be the highest run-getter in the WTC final: Parthiv Patel

June 8, 2021

Written By,

Payel Gosh

Retired Indian wicket-keeper batsman Parthiv Patel claims Cheteshwar Pujara will be the highest run-scorer during the ICC WTC Final. Virat Kohli and Co. are gearing up to face New Zealand at The Rose Bowl in Southampton. Both the teams will fight hard to win the maiden season of the World Test championship.

Cheteshwar Pujara will be one of the batsmen to watch out for in the WTC final

Earlier this year, in the Border-Gavaskar Series against Australia, team India was without the services of several senior Indian cricketers. Despite all the hurdles, the Men in Blue managed to win the series. India's Test Cheteshwar Pujara also suffered several blows on his body from Australia's world-class pace attack to keep his team in the match. Ahead of the World Test Championship final, former Indian wicket-keeper Parthiv Patel stated that Pujara would score the highest number of runs in the much-awaited contest. Pujara would be hoping to prove a point by making his bat do the talking in the challenging English conditions during an exhausting tour of three-and-a-half months.

The World Test Championship final between India and New Zealand will be a complete showdown among some of the game's superstars. Indian captain Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma will have to face the pace of Trent Boult. On the other hand, Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane will have to deal with the bounce of Kyle Jamieson. For the Blackcaps, skipper Kane Williamson and Devon Conway would have to face Jasprit Bumrah's in-swingers. Finally, Ross Taylor would have to tackle the experience of Ishant Sharma and R Ashwin.

India squad: 

Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Mayank Agarwal, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Axar Patel, Shubman Gill, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Wriddhiman Saha, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Washington Sundar, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul.

Tour Schedule

18th – 22nd June: WTC Final India vs NZ at Southampton

4th – 8th August: 1st Test India vs England at Nottingham

12th – 16th August: 2nd Test India vs England at London (Lord's)

25th – 29th August: 3rd Test India vs England at Leeds

2nd – 6th September: 4th Test India vs England at London (Oval)

10th – 14th September: 5th Test India vs England at Manchester (Old Trafford)

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,

Payel Gosh