हिन्दी (Hindi)

‘Clueless in the absence of the big three’- Twitter upset as India lose second T20I vs South Africa

By BetBarter Staff

June 13, 2022

In the second T20I match of South Africa’s tour of India, the visitors trashed the men in blue with a four-wicket victory. After restricting India to a modest score of 148 runs in the first innings, the Proteas put up a brilliant batting display to win the game. With this win, South Africa took a 2-0 lead in the five-match series.

Temba Bavuma won the toss and went with the obvious choice to bowl first. India did not have the best start as they lost Ruturaj Gaikwad (one) early on. Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer then stitched good runs, and took India through the powerplay without losing another wicket. India scored 42 runs in the first six overs. However, Kishan (34) lost his wicket immediately after that.

India could not build many partnerships after that as they kept losing regular wickets. Rishabh Pant (five), Hardik Pandya (nine), and Iyer (40) all lost their wickets by the 14th over for a team score of 98. Dinesh Karthik was at the top of his game and continued his form from the Indian T20 League 2022. The men in blue lost another wicket, but the Tamil Nadu player’s cameo of 30 runs in 21 balls helped them reach a defendable total.

South Africa could not get off to a good start in the chase, losing three wickets in the powerplay. Temba Bavuma, however, stuck around as he was joined by Heinrich Klaasen. The two then had a good run in the game, but it was a complete Klaasen show. They added 64 runs in the partnership until the 13th over. Yuzvendra Chahal dismissed Bavuma (35) for a team score of 93.

In the meantime, Klaasen completed his half-century and continued dominating the bowlers. He was finally dismissed by Harshal Patel in the 17th over for a score of 81. This is the highest score by a South African batter in a T20I game against India. The team lost one more wicket but David Miller (20) comfortably finished the game in the 19th over. To win the series, India must now win all of its remaining matches.

Here is how Twitter reacted