'May Lord give him blessings...' - Fans react as Rohit Sharma reports that he will attend Lord Rama Temple's consecration ceremony

India skipper Rohit Sharma is reportedly invited to the consecration ceremony of Lord Rama at Ram Temple in Ayodhya. The event will take place on January 22, 2024.

Mathew K
New Update
Rohit Sharma, Ram Mandir

Rohit Sharma, Ram Mandir (Image Credit: Twitter)

India skipper  Rohit Sharma has reportedly been invited to the consecration ceremony of the Ram Temple in Ayodhya on January 22, 2024. The foundation stone of the temple was laid by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in August 2020. He was one of the first persons to be invited to the event and Uttar Pradesh CM and RSS chiefs, Yogi Adityanath and Mohan Bhagwat respectively will also be present.

According to the report in the Print, Akshay Kumar, Amitabh Bachchan, Ratan Tata, Mukesh Ambani, Gautam Adani, and some scribes will be invited. Around 6,000 priests and saints are likely to grace the holy occasions. Meanwhile, apart from Rohit, several other cricketers such as Virat Kohli and Sachin Tendulkar have been invited to the event.

Rohit Sharma rested for the white-ball series against South Africa

Meanwhile, the India skipper has been rested for the white-ball series. After the ODI World Cup 2023, he is yet to play a white-ball game, having rested for the Australia series too. However, Sharma will lead the team for the two-match Test series in which they are currently the potential winners.

India’s squad for Tests: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohd. Shami*, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna. 

India’s squad for 3 T20Is: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar.

India’s squad for 3 ODIs: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (C)(wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar.

This is how Twitter reacted

rohit sharma