'Mr. Consistent for a reason' - Fans react as Charith Asalanka scores well-fought century against Zimbabwe in 1st ODI at RPS, Colombo

Charith Asalanka scored his ODI career's third century in the ongoing first ODI of the three-match series against Zimbabwe at the RPS in Colombo.

Mathew K
New Update
Charith Asalanka (File Photo: Twitter)

Charith Asalanka (File Photo: Twitter)

The Star Sri Lanka batting all-rounder Charith Asalanka attracted the headlines for his amazing century against Zimbabwe in the first ODI of the three-match series at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Saturday, January 6, 2024. He scored 101 runs off 95 balls, hitting 5 fours and 4 sixes.

Besides Asalanka, skipper Kusal Mendis and number 3 batter Sadeera Samarawickrama also played the crucial knocks of 46 and 41 runs, respectively. Richard Ngarva, Blessing Muzarabani, and Faraz Akram scalped 2 wickets each for Zimbabwe in the first innings, alongside Sikander Raza.

However, the match was halted by rain in the second innings when Zimbabwe had scored 12 runs for the loss of 2 wickets.

The fans were also delighted after Charith Asalanka’s century against Zimbabwe to put Sri Lanka in a situation to post a defendable total against the visitors. The Islanders under the captaincy of newly appointed ODI skipper Kusal Mendis will be eyeing to strengthen their position in the 50-over format after a dismal run in last year’s ODI World Cup, where they ended up in the ninth spot of the points table of the tournament.

Just a few days ago, Sri Lanka Cricket made some key changes in their team’s leadership across all formats as they named Kusal Mendis as ODI skipper, alongside Wanindu Hasaranga as T20I skipper and continuing with Dimuth Karunaratne as the Test skipper.

At the time of the rain interruption, opener Takudzwanashe Kaitano and Milton Shumba were unbeaten there in the middle.

Here’s a look at Sri Lanka’s squad for the ODI series against Zimbabwe:

Kusal Mendis (C), Charith Asalanka (VC), Pathum Nissanka, Avishka Fernando, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Sahan Arachchige, Nuwanidu Fernando, Dasun Shanaka, Janith Liyanage, Maheesh Theekshana, Dilshan Madushanka, Dushmantha Chameera, Dunith Wellalage, Pramod Madushan, Jeffrey Vandersay, Akila Dananjaya, and Wanindu Hasaranga.

Here’s how fans reacted to Charith Asalanka’s century against Zimbabwe:



Featured Charith Asalanka Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe