Neil Wagner announces his retirement from Cricket

New Zealand most experience fast bowler Neil Wagner has taken retired from international cricket. He was the leading wicket-taker for New Zealand.

Sarah Andrew
New Update
Neil Wanger.png

Neil Wagner

New Zealand's most experienced fast bowler Neil Wagner has retired from international cricket. In 64 Test matches for New Zealand, he took 260 wickets with an average of 27.57. for the team. He was the leading wicket-taker for New Zealand. Earlier, Wanger was part of the Test squad that was going to face Australia for two Test match series starting from Wellington on 29th February. 

In his 12 years of Test career with New Zealand, he was a key member of his team. Selectors did not pick him for the two-match Test series against Australia. They informed him that he would not be a part of the playing XI in the first Test match and would be released before the second Test match.

Neil Wagner is originally from South Africa. In 2008, he moved to Dunedin and joined Otago in domestic cricket. In 2018 he shifted to Papamoa to play for Northen Districts. In 2012 he made his Test debut for New Zealand against the West Indies. Five years later, he achieved his career-best figures of 7/39 against West Indies at Wellington in Test cricket.

It is time to say goodbye to Test cricket - Neil Wagner

He announced his retirement in a press conference which was held in Basin Reserve in Wellington ahead of the Test match series against New Zealand. While he still believes in playing first-class cricket, saying that it's time to say goodbye to Test cricket. As New Zealand won the 2021 World Test Championship title by defeating India in the final, Neil Wagner played an important role in the final match by taking three wickets. His last Test series for New Zealand was against South Africa. New Zealand clean sweep South Africa by 2-0 as he picked a wicket in each innings of the two-match Test series.

New Zealand are hosting Australia for a two two-match Test series. Earlier, New Zealand lost the three-match T20I series to Australia.


New Zealand Neil Wagner