WATCH: On field umpire makes player laugh as she gives wrong decision despite DRS

In the ongoing second ODI between Australia and South Women, an on-field umpire made a wrong decision despite the instructions from the third umpire.

Mathew K
New Update
On Field Umpire gets it wrond South Africa vs Australia Women's ODI

On-field Umpire gets it wrong South Africa vs Australia Women's ODI (Image Credit: Twitter/

On-field umpires have gotten it wrong on some occasions during a cricket match. There was a time when only on-field umpires used to make decisions. However, with the evolution of technology, third umpires, or as we call them TV umpires have also been introduced. The fourth umpire makes sure everything regarding the field restrictions in white-ball games is going well.

Meanwhile, during the ongoing second ODI between Australia and South Africa Women, an on-field umpire got it wrong badly. Initially, she turned down an LBW appeal from the ODI and T20 World Cup holders. The home team, Australia decided to review. As it turned out, the ball hit the batter outside the off-stump which is why the on-field was meant to stay.

However, despite the third umpire asking her on-field colleague to stay with her decision, she raised her finger. The players couldn't help themselves but laugh at this incident. The umpire realized her mistake and reversed her decision.

Watch the video here

Talking about the game, the World Champions won the toss and elected to bowl first. The Proteas never got going after losing their captain Laura Volvaardt (0) for a duck. At the time of writing, the team amassed 229/6 at the end of the innings in 45 overs. During the game, the rain-interruption meant that the overs were reduced. Marizanne Kapp (75) was the only player to score a fifty.

Women's Cricket