हिन्दी (Hindi)

CSK handed over kits to their new recruits ahead of IPL 2021

April 8, 2021

Written By,

Ankit Seth

The Yellow Army welcomed their new recruits with a ceremony headlined by skipper MS Dhoni in Mumbai. MS Dhoni continued the tradition of handing over new Chennai Super Kings jerseys to the team's new players. Cheteshwar Pujara, Moeen Ali, Krishnappa Gowtham, and Robin Uthappa were seen at the ceremony getting their official kits from the captain.

Pujara, who makes a comeback to the Indian Premier League for the first time since 2014, took to social media to thank MS Dhoni and CSK as he was welcomed to the 3-time champions' set-up. Chennai Super Kings have camped in Mumbai, where they will play their first five games of IPL 2021 in strict bio-secure environments. The yellow army had endured their worst IPL season in 2020. They failed to make it to the playoffs for the first time in the history of the tournament. The franchise was anticipated to make wholesale changes, but they retained most of their players. This includes Suresh Raina, who had pulled out of IPL 2020 due to personal reasons.

CSK to start their IPL 2021 campaign against DC on April 10

CSK roped in six players at IPL 2021 mini-auction in February. They spent huge on English all-rounder Moeen Ali and Indian all-rounder K Gowtham. Regardless of the vast acquisitions, all eyes will be on Pujara. The senior batsman makes a comeback into the tournament for the first time since his stint with Punjab Kings in IPL 2014. As former Indian spinner Pragyan Ojha mentioned, Pujara is not likely to get a game straightaway for CSK in IPL 2021, but his presence in the dressing room will be a big boost to the team.

Pujara looked in great form during the training sessions as he was seen smashing huge sixes against his CSK teammates. Despite the perception of being a Test specialist, the batsman averages close to 30 in T20s and strikes at 109.9. In 2019, he had scored his maiden T20 century for Saurashtra in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy against Railways.

IPL 2021: CSK retained players

MS Dhoni, Faf Du Plessis, Sam Curran, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, N Jagadeesan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Mitchell Santner, Karn Sharma, KM Asif, Imran Tahir, R. Sai Kishore, Deepak Chahar, Lungi Ngidi. 

IPL 2021: CSK player additions

Moeen Ali, Cheteshwar Pujara, Krishnappa Gowtham, Harisankar Reddy, Bhagvath Varma.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,

Ankit Seth