‘CSK THE BAAP OF IPL’ – Fans elated as Chennai becomes first team to reach IPL 2023 Final afrer beating GT in first qualifier

By Daniel S

May 23, 2023

Chennai Super Kings and Gujarat Titans locked horns in the first qualifier of the Indian Premier League 2023. The visitors’ skipper Hardik Pandya won the toss and asked CSK to bat first. Batting first, the yellow outfits went on to post a total of 172 runs for the loss of seven wickets in the allotted 20 overs.

Later on, the Gujarat Titans couldn’t cross the line and lost the match, now they’ll lock horns in the second qualifier with the winning side of the eliminator.

The fans were also elated and ecstatic as MS Dhoni’s men have become the first team to secure their berth into the final of the current edition of the Indian Premier League. They immediately took to Twitter and came up with a lot of interesting reactions and responses to Chennai’s win. They also lavished praise on CSK’s performance in the all-important clash against Gujarat Titans.

Here’s how fans reacted:

Speaking of the entire action of the match, the openers Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway played the knocks of 60 and 40 runs respectively. On the back of these knocks, Chennai Super Kings managed to score 172 runs for the loss of seven wickets in the first 20 overs of the game.

Mohit Sharma and Mohammed Shami scalped two wickets each alongside one wicket each by Darshan Nalkande, Rashid Khan, and Noor Ahmed for GT.

While chasing the target, it was only Shubman Gill who could manage to play to a struggling knock of 42 runs with four boundaries and a six to his name. Other than him, only Rashid Khan scored 30 runs with three fours and two sixes with the wood.

But unfortunately, they couldn’t chase down the total and lost the match by a margin of 15 runs getting all-out only on the score of 157 runs in 20 overs. Maheesh Theekshana, Ravindra Jadeja, and Matheesha Pathirana scalped two wickets each alongside one wicket and two wickets respectively claimed by Tushar Deshpande and Deepak Chahar.

Ruturaj Gaikwad won the ‘Player of the Match award for his match-defining knock in favour of Chennai Super Kings.