हिन्दी (Hindi)

Devon Conway breaks Sourav Ganguly’s 25-year-old Lord’s record on debut

June 3, 2021

Written By,

Ankit Seth

New Zealand opening batsman Devon Conway has surpassed Sourav Ganguly to record the highest Test score on debut at Lord's. New Zealand is playing the first match of the series against England in London. Devon Conway broke Ganguly's record when the Kiwi batsman crossed the 131-run mark in the 83rd over on Day 1. Sourav Ganguly had scored 131 off 301 balls 25 years back. His brilliant knock included 20 boundaries, and he became the third player after Harry Graham and John Hampshire hit a century on Test debut at the Lord's. Surprisingly, Devon Conway and Sourav Ganguly also share a birthday of July 8.

Conway became the sixth cricketer to smash a test century on debut at Lord's

Devon Conway has become the sixth player to smash a test century on debut at Lord's. Riding on the century of debutant Devon Conway, the Kiwis marched to a strong position against England on Day One of the ongoing first Test against England. At stumps, NZ finished with the score of 246/3. Devon Conway and Henry Nicholls still at the crease on 136 and 46, respectively.

Earlier, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson had won the toss and opted to bat against England. The first Test at Lord's has also marked the return of spectators to Test cricket in England. The England cricket team gave debuts to wicketkeeper-batsman James Bracey and pacer Ollie Robinson

The visitors had the better of the morning session as they were 85-1 at lunch. However, James Anderson, who was featured in his 161st Test match, struck in the first over. He dismissed skipper Kane Williamson for 13. Williamson's dismissal gave Anderson his 615th wicket. On the other hand, debutant Robinson then picked up Ross Taylor's wicket. 

New Zealand, who will play against India in the maiden World Test Championship final at Southampton later this month, were without the services of their star pacer Trent Boult. The left-arm pacer was granted family time in New Zealand after his stint in the 14th season of the Indian Premier League.

England XI

Rory Burns, Dom Sibley, Zak Crawley, Joe Root (capt), Ollie Pope, Dan Lawrence, James Bracey (wk), Ollie Robinson, Stuart Broad, Mark Wood, James Anderson.

New Zealand XI

Tom Latham, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson (capt), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling (wk), Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,

Ankit Seth