हिन्दी (Hindi)

Dinesh Karthik to vanguard Tamil Nadu in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

December 26, 2020

Written By,


Indian wicket-keeper batsman Dinesh Karthik is going to lead Tamil Nadu in the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The tournament is all set to begin from January 10, 2021. The Tamil Nadu Cricket Association has named 20 players ready to take part in the classic event. The 35-year wicket-keeper batsman will spearhead a squad that is a balance of both experience and youth. Indian all-rounder Vijay Shankar has also been named vice-captain of the team. 

As per the reports, opening batsman Murali Vijay withdrew of the tournament citing personal reasons. The Tamil Nadu side will also miss the services of Ravichandran Ashwin, Washington Sundar and T Natarajan. The bowlers are currently with the Indian side for the Australia tour.

Medium-pacer Aswin Crist also returns to the team after a gap of three years due to injuries. Whereas, Sandeep Warrier, who shifted from Kerala, will also be a part of the team. The other team members include spinners M Ashwin, R Sai Kishore and M Siddharth.

Motera Stadium in Ahmedabad to host the knockout matches

The newly built Motera Stadium in Ahmedabad will be hosting the forthcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy's knockout matches. The Indian board for Cricket has further transmitted that Motera Stadium in Ahmedabad will be hosting the quarter-finals, semi-finals, and the tournament's finals. The semi-finals will take place from January 29 followed by the finals that will take place on January 31.

In 2018-19, Tamil Nadu had lost in the finals against Karnataka. Vasudevan has stated that he expects the team to do well in the upcoming edition. He further added that the players have prepared well as some of them have just returned from IPL.

The team will have a camp starting on Thursday, and they are to take part in practice matches. The entire Tamil Nadu team is going to leave for Kolkata on January 2, 2021. Tamil Nadu is positioned in Elite Group B.

Yuvraj Singh and Suresh Raina will also come out of retirement and play cricket in India once again.

Tamil Nadu squad for 2021 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Dinesh Karthik (captain), Vijay Shankar (vice-captain), B Aparajith, B Indrajith, Aswin Crist, M Mohammed, R Sai Kishore, G Periyasamy, Sandeep Warrier, J Kousik, R Sonu Yadav, M Shahrukh Khan, Pradosh Ranjan Paul, C Hari Nishaanth, KB Arun Karthik, N Jagadeesan, M Siddharth, L Suryapprakash, R S Jaganath Srinivas, M Ashwin.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,