‘Divided By countries United by 2011 WC Trophy’ – Fans react as former Indian skipper MS Dhoni and former Indian head coach Gary Kirsten spotted together

By Daniel S

March 30, 2023

There was a time when the duo of former Indian skipper MS Dhoni and former head coach Gary Coach led Team India to a lot of glories from the year of 2008 to 2011. It included the historic ODI World Cup win after a long wait of 28 years since 1983 and series wins against New Zealand in New Zealand.

In a delightful scene for Indian cricket fans, this famous captain-coach was recently spotted after a long time; Gary and MS Dhoni will now be active in the Indian T20 League 2023 in different capacities. Meanwhile, they were seen together just a day before the start of the tournament with the tournament opener between Gujarat and Chennai.

Gary Kirsten will be with Gujarat in their coaching staff during the upcoming season of the Indian T20 League. Whereas, the 41-year-old former legendary wicketkeeper-batter will be in action with Chennai as captain in the 16th edition of the Indian T20 League.

The Indian cricket fans were also delighted after seeing Gary Kirsten and MS Dhoni together as soon as the photo started making rounds on social media. They took to Twitter to come up with joyous reactions and responses.

Here’s how fans reacted:

The defending champions Gujarat and Chennai will play the tournament opener at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Here’s a look at the Gujarat squad for the Indian T20 League 2023:

Hardik Pandya (C), Shubman Gill, David Miller, Abhinav Manohar, Sai Sudharsan, Wriddhiman Saha, Matthew Wade, Rashid Khan, Rahul Tewatia, Vijay Shankar, Mohammed Shami, Alzarri Joseph, Yash Dayal, Pradeep Sangwan, Darshan Nalkande, Jayant Yadav, R Sai Kishore, Noor Ahmad, Kane Williamson, Odean Smith, KS Bharat, Shivam Mavi, Urvil Patel, Joshua Little, and Mohit Sharma.

Here’s a look at the Chennai squad for the Indian T20 League 2023:

MS Dhoni (C), Ravindra Jadeja, Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ambati Rayudu, Subhranshu Senapati, Moeen Ali, Shivam Dube, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Dwaine Pretorius, Mitchell Santner, Deepak Chahar, Tushar Deshpande, Mukesh Choudhary, Matheesha Pathirana, Simarjeet Singh, Prashant Solanki, Maheesh Theekshana, Ajinkya Rahane, Ben Stokes, Shaik Rasheed, Nishant Sindhu, Ajay Mandal, Bhagath Varma, and Sisanda Magala.