हिन्दी (Hindi)

England announce a 16-man squad for the T20 series against India

February 12, 2021

Written By,


England announced a 16-member team for the upcoming five-match T20I series against India. The series are scheduled to begin March 12. ECB announced a strong squad, including players like Jos Buttler, Jofra Archer, Ben Stokes, and Eoin Morgan. Liam Livingstone is also in the team after three years. The 27-year-old from Lancashire was in great form in the 2020 Big Bash League with the Perth Scorchers. He was also a part of England's ODI squad in the recent South Africa tour.

The English team will be led by their white-ball specialist Eoin Morgan

The England team has announced two reserve players: Jake Ball and Matt Parkinson. The selection committee has once again overlooked Test captain Joe Root in the Twenty20 squad. Root has been in his best form with the bat since the start of the year. The batsman has scored 644 runs in three Tests, including two double tons against Sri Lanka and India.

National selector Ed Smith stated that Root's omission is because of England's multiple batting options. Talking about England's international schedule, the Test side will play 17 times this year. Root is expected to feature in the ODI series that follows the five-match T20I series. The Test captain could also feature in the forthcoming World T20 Tournament, scheduled for the autumn.

The touring team will depart on Friday, February 26. All five games of the shortest format will take place at the Sardar Patel Stadium in Ahmedabad. India and England are currently in the middle of a four-match Test series. England have already emerged victorious in the first game. The visitors defeated India by 227 runs.

England squad for the 2021 T20I series against India

Eoin Morgan (C), Sam Billings, Jonny Bairstow Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Tom Curran, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Ben Stokes, Chris Jordan, Jason Roy, Sam Curran, Reece Topley, Mark Wood, Adil Rashid

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,