हिन्दी (Hindi)

England’s IPL stars set to miss the first Test against New Zealand

April 23, 2021

Written By,


England players featuring in the ongoing Indian Premier League have effectively been ruled out of the first Test against New Zealand. This is because of new travel protocols set by the UK. Considering India is on the red list due to an unprecedented increase in Covid-19 cases, all those who enter the country from India and have residential rights will have to serve a mandatory quarantine period of 10 days.

Traditionally, the English cricketers leave the season in the first or the second week of May to be a part of the home fixtures. But this time, the English cricket board has allowed its players to play the complete season. This further means that the players will at least miss the first Test match against New Zealand.

The first Test match between England and New Zealand kicks off on June 2

The league stage of the Indian Premier League 2021 concludes on May 23, 2021. The playoffs will then commence from May 25 to 30. Players who are not going to be part of second-round matches might be available for selection right only if they reach England in time. With the IPL concluding on May 30, the players who are part of the teams qualifying for playoffs will automatically be ruled out of the first Test at Lord's. The Kiwis will be touring England for a two-match Test series in June, ahead of their ICC World Test Championship final against India. 

The New Zealand team is also likely to miss some of their Test specialists who are also currently involved in the IPL. Trent Boult, Kane Williamson, Kyle Jamieson, and Jimmy Neesham are plying their trade in the 2021 IPL season with different franchises. The first Test match between England and New Zealand kicks off on June 2. The second match will begin from June 10 to 14. Also, the forthcoming Test series between England and New Zealand is not part of the ICC World Test Championship. This Test series will be followed by the most awaited final of the World Test Championship (WTC) between New Zealand and India. The final clash of the World Test Championship is going to take place on 18th June 2021 at Southampton.

England's players in IPL (List includes players who aren't part of the Test team): Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan (Punjab Kings), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Jofra Archer, Liam Livingstone ( Rajasthan Royals), Chris Woakes, Sam Billings, Tom Curran (Delhi Capitals), Sam Curran, Moeen Ali ( Chennai Super Kings), Eoin Morgan (Kolkata Knight Riders).

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,