हिन्दी (Hindi)

Faf du Plessis, Moeen Ali and Sunil Narine prefer BPL over PSL

By BetBarter Staff

December 16, 2021

In what can be called a major development, Faf du Plessis, Moeen Ali, and Sunil Narine will turn out for Comilla Victorians in the upcoming eighth edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL). The Victorians are set to feature in the competition after a gap of two years. Nafisa Kamal, the managing director of Comilla, confirmed the participation of the players.

“BCB has said this is a month-long BPL. There will be six teams. Three foreign players can be taken. We are working accordingly. We have signed all three. We have confirmed Sunil Narine, Faf du Plessis, and Moeen Ali,” Nafisa was quoted as saying to the media on Saturday, CricFrenzy reported.

Meanwhile, the development means that Du Plessis, Moeen, and Narine won’t take part in the seventh edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL). The trio also didn't register their names for the player draft for PSL, which took place on December 12. The BPL is scheduled to begin on January 20, 2022, while the PSL will get underway from January 27.

Sheikh Sohel, the BPL governing council member, is not too worried about its clash with PSL. “We are not worried about the PSL and we are expecting to host the players draft of this month but the only thing that we are worried about is the corona situation,” Sohel said.

The BPL have finalized six teams for the upcoming eighth edition of the league. Up to three foreign players can feature in the playing XI. Comilla are the two-time champions having won the BPL in 2015 and 2019. On the other hand, due to being suspended for one year, Khulna Tigers, Rangpur Riders, and Dhaka Dynamite won't play in BPL 2022.