‘Finally some relief, some happiness’- Fans breathe a sigh of relief as Mumbai claim first win of Indian T20 League 2022

By BetBarter Staff

April 30, 2022

Rajasthan faced Mumbai  in the 44th match of the Indian T20 League 2022, After winning the toss, Rohit Sharma chose to bowl first at the DY Patil Stadium. Rajasthan did not get off to the best possible start as they lost Devdutt Padikkal (15) in the fifth over at a team score of 26. Following that, Jos Buttler grabbed command of the game, but wickets continued to fall at the other end.

Sanju Samson (16) and Daryl Mitchell (17) fell by the 15th over, while Buttler also struggling to go big. The English batter, however, struck four sixes in the 16th over before falling to Shokeen in the same over for 67. Ravichandran Ashwin then played a short cameo of 21 runs in nine balls to get the men in pink to a total of 158/6 runs in their 20 overs.

Shokeen and Riley Meridith each got two wickets in the game, while Daniel Sams and Kumar Kartikeya each took one. In a modest chase, Rohit Sharma and Ishan Kishan failed to create an impression once more. Sharma (two) was out on a team score of 23 in the third over to Ashwin. Kishan (26) played with the right intent, to begin with, but lost his wicket to Trent Boult in the sixth over, leaving Mumbai at 41-2. Suryakumar Yadav and Tilak Varma then took the responsibility to take the team through.

Yadav played the aggressor, and Varma supported him from the other end. The duo put Mumbai in the driver’s seat with 81 run stand. Meanwhile, Suryakumar Yadav raced to his half-century with a six in the 14th over. Mumbai needed 46 runs in six overs and the win looked a cakewalk. However, Yadav and Varma lost their wickets in quick succession to create panic in the Mumbai camp/

With Kieron Pollard and Tim David at the crease, Mumbai needed 35 runs in the last four overs. They did not take too many risks and the equation came down to 12 runs in two overs. Krishna conceded 8 runs in the 19th over, and Kuldeep Sen bowled the final over, with 4 to defend. He got the wicket of Pollard (10) on the first ball but Daniel Sams hit a six to seal Mumbai’s first win of Indian T20 League 2022.

Here are the top tweets of the game