First time in history of IPL, final gets rescheduled on reserve day

By Daniel S

May 28, 2023

So, the rain has left all the fans still in wait for the much-anticipated final of the ongoing edition of the Indian Premier League 2023. Due to the continuous rain at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, the summit clash between the two teams has been postponed to the reserve day of tomorrow, the 29th of May from 7.30 PM.

Notably, it happened first time in the 15-year-long and 16-season history of the Indian Premier League when the final has been shifted to the reserve day. It has been for the last few days that the weather is not good at and nearby the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, the venue for this remarkable clash of the tournament.

Here’s a look at the journey of Gujarat Titans and Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2023:

Speaking of both the teams and their journey in the entire current season of the tournament, the defending champions finished in the first position in the league stage; they won 10 out of the 14 matches, played in the league stage, and lost four to lead the chart with 20 points. On the other hand, the four-time champions Chennai Super Kings ended up in the second spot in the points table of the tournament after the group stage. The yellow outfits won 8 out of the 14 matches losing five games alongside one called-off game due to rain. CSK earned a total of 17 points at the end of the league stage.

Both teams locked horns in the first qualifier in the knock-out stage of the IPL 2023, where Chennai Super Kings emerged victorious by a margin of 15 runs. With that win, they also become the first team to enter the final of the 16th edition of the Indian Premier League. Apart from that, it is the tenth time MS Dhoni’s CSK when made it to the title clash of the tournament.

Whereas, Gujarat Titans faced eliminator-winner Mumbai Indians in the second qualifier. Hardik Pandya’s men outclassed Mumbai by a big margin of 81 runs to enter into the second consecutive final of IPL after they won last year in IPL 2022 as the debutants and new entrants.