हिन्दी (Hindi)

Five lowest powerplay scores in Indian T20 League

By BetBarter Staff

February 28, 2022

The powerplay is very important not just for the batting team, but also for the fielding team. The field restrictions tempt the batters to get good runs that can sometimes be beneficial for the bowlers as the batters may throw away their wickets. Even if the bowlers do not get many wickets, they try to restrict runs. This builds a lot of pressure on the opposition. Here are the lowest powerplay scores in the Indian T20 League.

Kolkata’s 17/4 against Bangalore, 2020

Bangalore had to credit Mohammed Siraj for this. Siraj had the figures of two maidens in two overs with two wickets. Kolkata lost 4 wickets in 3.3 overs, leaving Eoin Morgan and Dinesh Karthik to face the next 15 balls. The duo scored just three runs under the pressure situation in the remaining overs of the powerplay. This powerplay already sealed the deal for Bangalore.

Chennai’s 16/1 against Bangalore, 2019

Surprisingly this low score came as a pre-planned strategy. Chasing a very small target on a slow Chennai wicket, the team lost Shane Watson for a 10-ball duck. They approached the innings slowly as they completed the chase of 71 in the 18th over. At the end of the powerplay, Ambati Rayudu was the highest scorer with 12 runs. Half of his score came with a six.

Chennai’s 16/1 against Delhi, 2015

This low score was a very surprising one as the likes of Dwayne Smith and Brendon McCullum were the batters in the picture. The other fact was that the main wicket-takers of the Delhi squad were missing. Imran Tahir, Amit Mishra, and Nathan Coulter Nile were all missing from Delhi’s team in this match.

Chennai’s 15/2 against Kolkata, 2011

This is the third time that Chennai, one of the most successful ITL teams, is featuring in the list. This game also featured one of the lowest scores for the team. They could only manage 114/4 in the 20 overs. In the powerplay, Chennai played as many as 25 dot balls.

Rajasthan’s 14/2 against Bangalore, 2009

The 2009 season was moved to South Africa which required many Indian players to adjust to those quick conditions. Both the teams in this match faced issues in the powerplay, but Rajsthan’s score was not of the T20 standards. Rajasthan were to 14/2 in the powerplay in the chase of 134. The match ended with them being bowled out for 58 as they were outplayed badly.