हिन्दी (Hindi)

Five reasons why Bangalore will win Indian T20 League 2022

By Daniel S

March 17, 2022

Bangalore has been a favourite team for almost every fan of the Indian T20 League. A lot of fans feel that the team must win the trophy at least once. Over the years, the team has played the finals three times but couldn’t cross the line. World Class players such as Anil Kumble, Rahul Dravid, Jacques Kallis, Chris Gayle, Tillakaratne Dilshan, AB de Villiers, Zaheer Khan, etc have played for the franchise. Still, the team hasn’t won a single trophy, which is hard to believe.

However, in the last couple of seasons, the team played the playoffs back-to-back, after failing in seasons 2017, 2018, and 2019. This year, the team might look to cash in on the past performances and end the trophy drought. In this listicle, we will discuss five reasons why Bangalore can win its maiden title this year.

Reasons why Bangalore can win the title this year

Faf du Plessis has the experience of leading South Africa in all formats

The three-time finalists appointed former South Africa skipper Faf du Plessis as their new leader for the upcoming season. Plessis has led his national team for more than 100 games in all forms of the game. Talking about his T20 captaincy, he has led his national side in 40 games, out of which the team won 25 and lost 15. Talking about franchise cricket, the right-hander has led teams such as Comilla Victorians, Paarl Rocks, and St Lucia Kings. Notably, he has the experience of winning the ITL trophies with Chennai three times as a player.

Wonderful Bowlers

The team had retained their premium pacer Mohammed Siraj last November. Last month, during the auction, the team bought last year’s purple cap winner Harshal Patel, all-rounder Shahbaz Ahmad, and Wanindu Hasaranga. The Red and Black army added the likes of Jason Behrendorff, Karn Sharma, Siddharth Kaul, Josh Hazlewood, and David Willey. The likes of Sharma and Willey can bat well down the order. Behrendroff has the experience of winning the ITL for Mumbai in 2019. On the other hand, Sharma has won the ITL with Hyderabad, Mumbai, and Chennai, and Kaul has won with Hyderabad before. 

 Combination of experienced and talented batters

The team had retained batters such as Virat Kohli and Glenn Maxwell last year. This year, they have bought the likes of Dinesh Karthik, Anuj Rawat, Mahipal Lomror, Finn Allen, and Sherfane Rutherford which will boost the batting line-up. Guys such as Lomror, Rawat, Allen, and Rutherford have shown their potential in different forms of the game over the years. 

Not playing at the Chinnaswamy will be an advantage

Generally, teams in the ITL love playing at their home grounds. However, Bangalore is the only team that doesn’t like playing at their home ground. The reason is that the ground is small and Bangalore bowlers have leaked too many runs there. In the last couple of seasons, the bowlers have done well, which could be credited to the fact that they have played on the bigger grounds in the UAE and India.

Confidence of playing back-to-back playoffs

In the last couple of seasons, the team qualified for the playoffs. The team looked gelled enough and were able to put together wins. This year, the team could take the leaf out of those performances and take a few more steps towards to ever-elusive title.