हिन्दी (Hindi)

‘Future captain for Mumbai’- Harbhajan Singh believes this player can be Rohit Sharma’s successor

By BetBarter Staff

May 13, 2022

Mumbai, on Thursday, beat Chennai in a low-scoring affair in the 59th match of the Indian T20 League 2022. In what looked like an easy chase, Mumbai lost four wickets in quick succession for a team score of 33. Tilak Varma had then gone on to form a crucial partnership with Hrithik Shokeen. The 19-year-old ensured to stay at the crease till the end and take the team through. He played an important knock, and scored 34 runs in 32 balls.

Impressed with his knock, former Indian Cricketer Harbhajan Singh said that Varma could be the successor to Rohit Sharma as Mumbai's captain. Varma and Tim David were batting together when Bhajji made his remarks in the commentary box.

"The thing is right. He (Tilak Varma) has the potential, and we will see him play for Mumbai Indians for many years to come. Tilak alongside David too. I think Tilak will be the future captain for Mumbai Indians," he said.

Meanwhile, Aakash Chopra, the cricketer-turned-commentator also shared his thoughts with Harbhajan Singh. "Wow, you heard that first here. The left-handed batter who is currently on strike can become the future skipper of Mumbai Indians," he said.

As far as the match is concerned, a brilliant bowling effort by Daniel Sams, Riley Meredith, and Jasprit Bumrah early on restricted the men in yellow to a low score of 97. Chasing this score, Mumbai never had it easy. Chennai got the early breakthroughs, but a 48-run partnership between Varma and Shokeen got the men in blue and gold back in the game. Varma and Tim David remained not out to win the match by five wickets.

With this win, Mumbai knocked MS Dhoni and co. out of the race to the playoffs. Mumbai and Chennai, the most successful teams in the history of the league, are the only two sides who are out of the race to the playoffs. Chennai's last two games are against Gujarat and Rajasthan, while Mumbai's final two games are against Hyderabad and Delhi.