हिन्दी (Hindi)

‘Gujaratis on Top’ – Gujarat storm into playoffs with crushing win over Lucknow

By BetBarter Staff

May 10, 2022

Lucknow and Gujarat locked horns in the 57th game of the Indian T20 League 2022 at the MCA Stadium in Pune. The Ahmedabad-based team won the toss and chose to bat first. They had a slow start before they lost the wicket of Wriddhiman Saha (5), who was caught at mid-on by Avesh Khan off Mohsin Khan. The score read 8/1 in 2.4 overs at this stage.

Matthew Wade (10), who was playing the game after missing out on a few matches, was the second wicket to fall in the fifth over. Wade was caught behind by Quinton de Kock off Avesh Khan while trying to play the scoop shot over fine leg. Skipper Hardik Pandya (11) struggled at the crease during his 12-ball stay as he couldn't hit even one boundary.

The struggle was ended in the 10th over of the innings as he was caught by de Kock off Avesh Khan. David Miller (26), who has won a few games in the tournament, also had a tough day as he could hit only one four and a six in his 24-ball stay. He was caught at third man by Ayush Badoni off Jason Holder.

Shubman Gill (63*) and Rahul Tewatia (22*) took the team to 144/4. In reply, the Men In Mint Green had a poor start. They lost the wicket of de Kock (11), who was brilliantly caught at cover point by debutant Sai Kishore off Yash Dayal in the fourth over of the innings. Skipper KL Rahul (8) followed in the next over as he was caught behind by Saha of Mohammed Shami while trying to play the pull shot.

What followed after this was absolute destruction from the Gujarat bowlers. They didn't let their foot off the paddle and were relentless in their bowling. Such was their bowling that only three batters from the opposition could cross the double-digit mark. Avesh Khan (12) was the third player after Rahul and de Kock to cross the double-digit mark. The team got all-out for  82 runs, losing the game by 62 runs. For Gujarat, Rashid Khan took four wickets, while debutant Sai Kishore and Yash Dayal took two each.

This is how Twitter reacted