हिन्दी (Hindi)

Harsha Bhogle elects his ODI team of the decade

December 28, 2020

Written By,


Harsha Bhogle, picked his One Day International playing eleven of the decade. The famous cricket journalist elected the players who have performed exceptionally from the year 2010 to 2020. Bhogle elected Rohit Sharma and David Warner as his openers. Both the opening batsman have been outstanding over the last ten years. Rohit smashed three double centuries with a top score of 264 against Sri Lanka.

The Mumbaikar also hit five tons in the 2019 World Cup. In the middle-order, Bhogle chose Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers. He stated that Virat had been a run-machine and has tasted equal success in all the game formats. The batsman has been consistent in one-day internationals, and he has also primed to break the records of his idol Sachin Tendulkar. Sachin’s records were once considered untouchable.

On the other side, AB de Villiers had retired back in 2018, but the netizens reckon that he has enough potential. They believe that he can still make an international comeback and weave his magic at the highest level.

No Indian bowler in Harsha Bhogle’s playing eleven

Bhogle selected his playing eleven while speaking on Cricbuzz. Regarding the all-rounders, he went with Ben Stokes and Shakib Al Hasan. Stokes was an essential player for England in the 2019 World Cup-winning squad. The all-rounder also played a brilliant knock in the final match against New Zealand. Talking about Shakib, he has so far been Bangladesh’s greatest cricketer in the last two decades.

Shakib performed well in the 2019 WC, but could not take his team to the semi-finals. The all-rounder recently made his comeback to competitive cricket in the 2020 Bangabandhu T20 Cup. He played for the Gemcon Khulna.

Considering the wicket-keeper slot, Bhogle picked MS Dhoni. The former Indian captain hung his boots from international cricket back in August. In last ten years, Dhoni has helped team India win the 2011 World Cup and the 2013 Champions Trophy.

For the pace trio, Harsha opted for Trent Boult, Lasith Malinga and Mitchell Starc. All the pacers have performed excellently during the last ten years. He picked one specialist spinner, Rashid Khan, who has been an inspiration to many. The spinner is one of the hottest picks.

Harsha Bhogle’s ODI eleven

Rohit Sharma, David Warner, AB de Villiers, Virat Kohli, Ben Stokes, Shakib Al Hasan, MS Dhoni, Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Lasith Malinga, Rashid Khan.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,