हिन्दी (Hindi)

Ian Chappell and Mohammad Azharuddin pick India’s wicket-keeper for the Test series

December 16, 2020

Written By,

Bet Barter

A day before the Border-Gavaskar Trophy commences, there are opinions from different cricketing pundits regarding the starting wicket-keeper for India in the 1st Test. As of now, there are 2 probable contenders, namely Rishabh Pant and Wriddhiman Saha. Recently, Ian Chappell and Mohammad Azharuddin had their pick on who will don gloves for the "Men in Blue". As per the duo, Rishabh Pant edges Wriddhiman Saha to play as the wicket-keeper for the 1st Test.

Former Australia captain Ian Chappell stated that the player chosen will completely depend upon the team combination. Chappell felt that India would opt for Pant if they play 5 bowlers against Australia in the 1st Test. However, if that does not happen, then it is possible that Saha gets the nod for keeping the wickets.

Rishabh Pant was excellent when India faced Australia back in the 2018-19 series. Pant was the 2nd highest run-scorer in the entire series. He scored 350 runs with a blistering batting average of 58.33. Furthermore, Pant also went on to notch up his career-best Test score of 159 against the Aussies. Pant also took a record 11 catches in the 1st Test, the most catch in a single test match by a wicket-keeper.

If you are playing 6 batsmen, then you have to go with Saha - Mohammad Azharuddin

The name Test speaks for itself. The test game is a game of patience. But sometimes, you have to break the shackles of patience when needed. Mohammad Azharuddin stated that although Saha is the better batsman, Pant should play at no 6 because he has that ability to break those shackles. However, Azharuddin also stated that Saha might get a chance if India opts to play 6 batsmen and 4 bowlers.

Both Saha and Pant were superb in the warm-up game against India. Saha came to India A’s rescue with a robust knock of 54. Pant on the other hand was fantastic as he smashed a blistering 103 off just 73 balls.

The 1st Test of the series will take place on 17th December. This will be India’s 2nd ever Pink ball test match. Both the teams would be desperate to get off the mark with a win. The 1st Test will be a day-night encounter. Prior to the 1st Test, the remaining 3 encounters will be only day games. These encounters will take place in Melbourne, Sydney, and Brisbane respectively.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,

Bet Barter

In today’s net-savvy world it has become common for any business to have a website which they use mostly for advertising their products and services.