हिन्दी (Hindi)

ICC T20 World Cup 2021 will move to UAE: Ehsan Mani

June 6, 2021

Written By,

Ankit Seth

Ehsan Mani has reckoned that the forthcoming ICC T20 World Cup will be held in the UAE. The decision might be taken, keeping into consideration the surge in COVID-19 cases in India. Last week, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) had declared that the remaining games of the IPL 2021 would be played in the UAE in September-October. Meanwhile, neither BCCI nor the ICC has made an official announcement regarding the venue. In fact, the Indian cricket board has asked for more time from the ICC before deciding on whether India will still remain the host country for the T20 World Cup.

The Apex Council of the Board of Control for Cricket in India has also selected nine venues to host the upcoming T20 World Cup. Nine outlets - Mumbai, New Delhi, Chennai, Kolkata, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Dharamshala, Ahmedabad, and Lucknow, have reportedly been confirmed by the BCCI.

The ICC T20 World Cup will witness 16 teams playing against each other

While the T20 World Cup is still uncertain, the Indian cricket board has found a window to stage the remaining matches of the 14th season of the IPL in the UAE. The BCCI members, at its SGM, decided to resume the league in the UAE, considering the monsoon situation in India in the months of September-October. ICC T20 World Cup 2021 is going to be the seventh edition of the tournament. West Indies are the defending champions as they conquered England by four wickets in the final of ICC T20 World Cup 2016. All the teams will announce their respective squads one month before the competition.

The forthcoming ICC T20 World Cup will witness 16 teams playing against each other. However, the decision to expand it to a 20-team tournament will primarily take place from 2024. Due to this, the participating teams may probably be divided into four groups comprising of five teams each. The sixteen teams worldwide include Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, Namibia, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and the West Indies.

As of now, India will once again be hosting the mega event. Earlier, they had hosted it back in 2016, where the West Indies team had won a record second title after defeating England in an edge-of-the-seat thriller at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata.

READ MORE Cricket articles here!

Written By,

Ankit Seth