हिन्दी (Hindi)

In-match penalty announced for teams for slow over-rate in T20Is

By Daniel S

January 7, 2022

In what comes as a big news, an in-match penalty for slow over-rate in T20Is will be implemented and will take effect from the one-off T20I match between West Indies and Ireland. Henceforth, if a fielding side fails to bowl the first ball of the final over of the innings by the scheduled or rescheduled time, then they will only be allowed four fielders, instead of five, outside the 30-yard circle. It is to be noted that this new penalty applies not only to Men’s T20Is but also to Women’s T20Is. The updated playing conditions also include an optional drinks interval midway through the innings in a bilateral T20I series.

“The fielding side needs to be in position to bowl the first ball of the final over of the innings by the scheduled [or rescheduled in case of an unavoidable delay] cessation time for the innings. If not, the penalty kicks in. The umpires will keep the players informed about the cut-off time,” read the statement by cricket’s governing body.

“The change was recommended by the ICC Cricket Committee, which regularly discusses ways to improve the pace of play in all formats, after considering reports on the effectiveness of a similar regulation that was included in the playing conditions for the Hundred competition conducted by the ECB,” the statement further read.

The penalties during the match are in addition to the sanctions for slow over-rate outlined in Article 2.22 of the Cricket’s governing body’s Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel. Another important point to be noted is the fact that the decision to allow optional drinks break during each innings of a T20I game will be taken mutually by the two participating boards before each series.

The first game that will be played under these conditions is going to be the one-off tie between West Indies and Ireland at the Sabina Park in Jamaica on 16 January. However, the three-match T20I series between West Indies and South Africa is going to be the first T20I series to follow this new addition.