हिन्दी (Hindi)

‘Inching closer to playoffs’- Twitter reacts as Bangalore comfortably win the match against Hyderabad

By BetBarter Staff

May 8, 2022

Bangalore beat Hyderabad by 67 runs in the 54th match of the Indian T20 League 2022. A brilliant all-rounded performance got the team the win and two points on the board. The bowling unit, particularly Wanindu Hasaranga, held the team well away from the steep 193-run chase.

Winning the toss Bangalore decided to bat first in the day game at the Wankhede Stadium. Despite an early setback, the men in red and blue got the perfect start. Virat Kohli was dismissed on the first ball of the game by Jagadeesha Suchith. This was his third golden duck of the season, and his second against the same team. Faf du Plessis and Rajat Patidar then stitched a good partnership to get through the powerplay without losing another wicket. They scored 47 runs in the first six overs.

The two continued striking the ball cleanly, and with the help of a few dropped catches, they added 105 runs in the partnership in 12.2 overs. Patidar scored 48 runs in 38 balls before falling to Suchith in the 13th over. Post that, Du Plessis continued attacking the bowlers and raced to his half-century. Maxwell, on the other end, scored 33 runs in the innings but battled with a slowing pitch.

Towards the end, Dinesh Karthik played a fabulous cameo of 30 runs in eight balls to help Bangalore reach 192 runs in the first innings. In the last over, he struck three sixes and a four to assist the team to attain this total. Du Pless also remained not out on 73 in 50 balls. Two wickets in the first over, during the defence, put Bangalore in control of the game. Kane Williamson was run-out for a diamond duck, and Glenn Maxwell cleaned the stumps of Abhishek Sharma.

Aiden Markram and Rahul Tripathi built a short partnership of 50 runs, but Markram (21) could not hold his guard. Meanwhile, Tripathi continued attacking the bowlers to complete his half-century. Wickets, however, kept falling for the orange army. Markram, Nicholas Pooran (19), and Suchith (two) were dismissed for a team score of 104 in 14.2 overs. Tripathi tried his best and scored 58 runs in 37 balls before falling to Josh Hazlewood in the 16th over.

Wanindu Hasaranga then bowled a two-wicket-maiden 17th over to complete his five-wicket haul. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Fazalhaq Farooqi stuck around for a few overs, but Harshal Patel took the final wicket of Kumar in the last over to square off the match.

Here is how Twitter reacted