हिन्दी (Hindi)

India squad for NZ Tests revealed; seniors rested, Kohli to return for second Test

By BetBarter Staff

November 12, 2021

India squad for the two-match Test series against New Zealand has been revealed by the BCCI. Several senior players including Rohit Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Rishabh Pant have been rested from the series. Skipper Virat Kohli will also miss the first Test. Ajinkya Rahane will lead the team in the opening game before Kohli returns to take charge of the team in the final game. 

Shreyas Iyer and KS Bharat have received their maiden Test call up, while all-rounder Jayant Yadav has been recalled to the squad. Meanwhile, in the absence of Pant, Wriddhiman Saha is expected to take up the gloves. Also, out of form batter, Cheteshwar Pujara has managed to hold on to his place in the team. Pujara and Rahane are going through a severe lean patch. Calls to drop the two senior players reached their peak after the players' horrible outings on England tour. However, BCCI have backed them for the series. Pujara in fact has been promoted as the vice captain.

KL Rahul and Shubman Gill are almost certain to open, with Mayank Agarwal slotting in the middle order. Spinners will play a crucial role and India have Ravi Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel to exploit the conditions. Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Siraj and Prasidh Krishna are the pace bowling options. The Test series gets underway on November 25 in Kanpur.

India squad for NZ Tests: A Rahane (C), C Pujara (VC), KL Rahul, M Agarwal, S Gill, S Iyer, W Saha (WK), KS Bharat (WK), R Jadeja, R Ashwin, A Patel, J Yadav, I Sharma, U Yadav, Md Siraj, P Krishna